Back to Ubuntu again

I have found that Ubuntu is very slow on my PC.  I can’t really afford a new PC right now, so I’ve been playing with Puppy and looking out for new distros of interest.

One called TEENpup is based on Puppy Linux, and is supposed to be a general purpose distribution, suitable for older machines, like mine.

I’ve also started learning MinGW, Minimalist GNU for Windows, an alternative to Cygwin.  I picked up on it as I was having trouble trying to get SDL working with Cygwin.  SDL (Simple DirectMedia Layer) is a multi-platform multimedia library.

Here is a link to an article on Lucid Lynx, the new Ubuntu LTS (Long Term Support) release, due in April.  The first beta release came out a few days ago.

http://www.linux-mag.com/cache/7740/1.html

Tags:

Leave a Reply

