Ubuntu Update

First things first, I made a hideous mistake in my last post.  The dexconf command is supposed to generate xorg.conf.  It didn’t for me, by the way.  I had to create the xorg file manually.

I also added my printer, and modified my boot settings.

There is no menu.lst in this version of Ubuntu.  I edited /etc/default/grub, and then ran sudo update-grub, which generates /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

I will be looking at migrating my Firefox profile to Linux, as well as installing some useful software.

So far I can’t say that I’ve been ‘burned’ by Karmic Koala.  I was puzzled by the grub and xorg issues, but have worked around them, and will proceed.

ttfn

Leave a Reply

