Repairing Linux

After installing an old Sabayon Linux, I found myself unable to log in due to the X server not starting.  I decided to see if I could look at /etc/X11/xorg.conf, the X configuration file with a live Linux distro.  I tried knoppix 5.1.1 on CD, and the latest Puppy.  I was able to edit xorg.conf and /boot/grub/menu.lst with both distros, but with knoppix I have to use sudo vi …, as root permission is required, and Puppy has that automatically.  With Puppy, you just mount the drive, a desktop command, that shows the partitions, including partition type, i.e. NTFS or ext3, etc.  You can then open the file with a text editor.

In this case, I had to adjust HorizSync and VertRefresh in the Monitor section.  Once I got that fixed, it started fine.

I have to go back and check my username and password, but I know that Puppy is definitely the easiest distro to use if you need to fiddle with config files in a Linux partition that isn’t starting up.  Puppy is easy to start up, and all the defaults were correct.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

