Learn From Your Mistakes

Mistakes or errors can be a good thing, IF you make the effort to learn from them.  I tried addressing two problems with my Xubuntu install today.  One was resolved successfully, and I learned something new (bonus!), one I still have to work on some more.

First my screen resolution was stuck at 800×600, no surprise there, as I need to use a proprietary driver (SiS).  I entered the following command:

sudo vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf

and, found to my surprise an empty file.  A bit of googling found the command dexconf, which will generate an /etc/X11/xorg.conf.  I then edited that to my satisfaction.  End result – I got my desired resolution, learned how to generate an xorg.conf, and found the following link:

The X Server Configuration HOWTO –http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml

By default, dexconf will write to /etc/X11/xorg.conf, the -o option allows you to specify another output file.

The other problem, which I have yet to resolve, is trying to update two packages – ca-certificates-java, and doc-base

I started Synaptic Package Manager, following this path:

Synaptic -> Settings -> Repositories -> Download from -> Other -> Select Best Server

Synaptic then pings each of a list of servers, to find the best response.  You can also select Third-Party Software.  After this, you have to click on “Reload” to download the package information.

For any of the above command, you are required to enter your own password, not root’s.  You don’t have to log in as root, minimizing the chance of a major foul-up.

As is, I have some more googling to do.  It’s always good to have another partition, another machine, or a live CD to fall back on for this sort of thing.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

