Debian again

I’m still having a problem running Knoppix 6 (ADRIANE works fine as far as I can tell).  I tried explicitly setting XFree86 , knoppix xserver=XFree86 at the boot prompt, but get the same range error.

In the meantime, I tried updating my Debian packages through the control panel, but nothing happened.  I was able to update by firing up a root terminal.  I then entered

apt-get update

apt-get upgrade

The first command synchronizes the repository list with the repositories; the second command updates all packages that need updating.  It’s fairly nice and simple, and all your packages are updated in one swoop.  All you have to do is enter the root password when you start the root terminal.

By the way, a report from BeyondTrust Corp. states the obvious (to some people at least) – 92% of Microsoft’s critical vulnerabilities could be blocked if users didn’t have administrative rights by default.  It may seem a pain in the ass to reboot, or run as in XP, but it’s worth the peace of mind.  I still forgot sometimes to login as administrator, but it’s still worth it.

Here’s a link to the article on slashdot:

http://tech.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=09/02/05/0221211

I have posted another message on the knoppix forum regarding my problem, and hoping that someone can help me out, or that a new release (bug fix) will address this issue.

Leave a Reply

