Yet Another Challenge

This time another Ubuntu crash…

I installed Windows 2000, reformatting the hard drive as an NTFS partition, then installed Ubuntu LTS (I’m limited by 256M RAM) in a second partition.  The total hard drive is 40M, and I decided to split it in half, 20M to Windows, 20 to Linux.  Installing Ubuntu to a second partition was actually quite easy, self-explanatory in fact.

However, when I updated Ubuntu afterwards, the problem began.  Afer updating, I was prompted to reboot.  On reboor, I got a kernel panic, which left me dead in the water.  I still have a working Windows machine, and using Firefox, Thunderbird, Open Office and Rainlendar, I was able to save all my work, budget, resume, etc.

In the meantime, I will be searching the Ubuntu forum for any recent threads concerning.

One lessoned learned – do your backups FIRST, then update your system.

Leave a Reply

